---
title: "Best C-10 Exam Prep: An Honest Comparison of the Courses"
description: "Seven C-10 exam prep courses side by side: price, whether Law and Business is included, which code edition each one names, Spanish, and access. Every fact is from each seller's own page."
url: https://caelectricalprep.com/blog/best-c10-exam-prep
published: 2026-10-15
topic: "Exam"
language: en
license: "Free to read and quote with attribution to CA Electrical Prep (https://caelectricalprep.com)."
source_of_truth: "2025 California Electrical Code (Title 24, Part 3), which adopts the 2023 NEC with California amendments."
---

# Best C-10 Exam Prep: An Honest Comparison of the Courses

Seven C-10 exam prep courses side by side: price, whether Law and Business is included, which code edition each one names, Spanish, and access. Every fact is from each seller's own page.

## Key points

- CSLB's C-10 study guide lists the 2025 California Electrical Code. Check which edition a course names before you buy it.
- You pass two computer-based exams. Several courses sell Law and Business separately, so compare the price for both.
- CSLB says there are no schools or application preparation organizations that are affiliated with or agents of CSLB. No course is "CSLB-approved."
- If you want a live class, a school like Contractors Intelligence School offers one. If you want a printed book, Peerless and Builder's Book sell them.
- If you want both exams on the 2025 code, online, in English or Spanish, at one price, that is the course we built.

I build CA Electrical Prep, so read this knowing that. To keep it fair, I read every other course on its own website and quote only what that page says. Where a page does not say something, the table says "not stated" instead of guessing. Prices change, so click through before you buy.

## The short answer

- **You want a live class or a classroom:** a school like Contractors Intelligence School offers live streaming and in-class courses.
- **You want a printed study guide:** Peerless Institute and Builder's Book sell books.
- **You want both exams, on the current code, online, in English or Spanish, at one price:** that is what we built.

## Side by side

Read from each seller's page on October 15, 2026.

| Course | Price listed | Law and Business | Code edition named | Spanish | Access |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| CA Electrical Prep (ours) | $148.75 one time | Included | 2025 California Electrical Code | Every lesson and question | Lifetime |
| [Contractors Intelligence School](https://promo.contractorsischool.com/contractors-license/electrical-contractors-license-c10), Full Online Course | $495.00 (regular price $595.00) | Included (Law & Trade videos) | Not stated | [Spanish package: $795.00](https://promo.contractorsischool.com/es/contractors-license/electrical-contractors-license-c10) | Not stated |
| [US Trade Test](https://california.ustradetest.com/our-courses/c-10-electrical-contractor/) | Trade Only $249 | Sold separately | Lists the 2022 California Electrical Code | Not stated | 365 days |
| [Peerless Institute](https://www.peerlessinstitute.com/product-category/california-license-trades-study-materials/c-10-electrical/), Study Guide + Online Practice Exam | $250.00 | In the $375.00 bundle | 2022 California Codes | Not stated | Not stated |
| [RocketCert](https://rocketcert.com/construction/california/electrical-contractor-license-c10) | $199 | Sold separately, $199 | Not stated | Not stated | 1 year access period |
| [@HomePrep](https://www.athomeprep.com/shop/california-electrical-exam-review/), California Electrical-C10 | $269.99 | Sold separately, $269.99 | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| [Builder's Book](https://www.buildersbook.com/california-c-10-electrical-examination-quick-pass-study-guide-combo-includes-study-guide-online-access-key-flash-cards-and-quick-card.html), QuickPass Combo | $126.60 (was $148.95) | Not included | Quick-Card based on the 2020 NEC | Not stated | Not stated |

"Not stated" means the page I read did not say. Ask the seller.

## What to check before you buy any C-10 course

1. **The code edition.** CSLB's C-10 study guide lists the 2025 California Electrical Code. Ask any course which edition its questions use. Rules move between editions, and an old answer key teaches you the wrong answer.
2. **Both exams.** You pass two computer-based exams: Law and Business, and the C-10 trade exam. If Law and Business is sold separately, add both prices before you compare.
3. **Spanish, if you need it.** Law and Business has a Spanish version. The C-10 trade exam does not, but CSLB can approve a translator to read it to you. Our [guide to taking the C-10 in Spanish](/blog/c10-exam-in-spanish) explains how.
4. **Access length.** CSLB gives you 18 months from the day it accepts your application to pass the exams. Access that ends before you test is money spent twice.
5. **"CSLB-approved" claims.** CSLB says there are no schools or application preparation organizations that are affiliated with or agents of CSLB.
6. **The refund, in writing.** Read the terms before you pay, not after.

## Where each one wins

- **Contractors Intelligence School** is the choice if you learn best from a person: it lists live streaming and in-class options, plus a Spanish package.
- **Peerless Institute** suits people who want a printed study guide and a practice exam. Its practice exam page lists 592 practice questions.
- **Builder's Book** has the lowest price in this table for a trade-only book and flash cards.
- **RocketCert and US Trade Test** are online courses that sell the trade and Law and Business courses one at a time.

## Where we fall short

We are online only. There is no live class and no printed book, although you can print practice tests and answer keys as PDFs. If you need a teacher in the room, a school is a better fit.

## What we built, and why

Of the other six course pages above, none named the 2025 California Electrical Code. We built CA Electrical Prep on it. Every one of our 1,202 practice questions is checked by code against the stored text of the 2025 California Electrical Code and the CSLB law book, and each answer shows the section behind it. Both exams are in one price. Every lesson and question is in English and Spanish.

If the course is not right for you, request a refund within 30 days of purchase and we will take care of it.

[Take the free practice test](/free-exam) to see where you stand, or [see the price](/pricing).

## Questions and answers

### What is the best C-10 exam prep course?

It depends on how you learn. For a live class, pick a school that teaches one. For a printed book, pick a book. For self-study online that covers both exams on the 2025 California Electrical Code, in English or Spanish, at one price, we built CA Electrical Prep. The table on this page compares seven courses from their own pages.

### Does any C-10 course have CSLB approval?

No. CSLB says there are no schools or application preparation organizations that are affiliated with or agents of CSLB. Treat "CSLB-approved" in an ad as a red flag.

### Which code edition should a C-10 course use?

CSLB's C-10 study guide, for examinations scheduled on or after June 1, 2024, lists the 2025 California Electrical Code. A course built on an older edition can teach you rules that have changed.

### Is there C-10 exam prep in Spanish?

Yes. Our course has every lesson and practice question in English and Spanish. Contractors Intelligence School lists a Spanish package. Remember that the C-10 trade exam itself has no Spanish version; the Law and Business exam does.

---
Canonical HTML version: https://caelectricalprep.com/blog/best-c10-exam-prep
More: https://caelectricalprep.com/llms.txt
