Best C-10 Exam Prep: An Honest Comparison of the Courses

I build CA Electrical Prep, so read this knowing that. To keep it fair, I read every other course on its own website and quote only what that page says. Where a page does not say something, the table says "not stated" instead of guessing. Prices change, so click through before you buy.

The short answer

  • You want a live class or a classroom: a school like Contractors Intelligence School offers live streaming and in-class courses.
  • You want a printed study guide: Peerless Institute and Builder's Book sell books.
  • You want both exams, on the current code, online, in English or Spanish, at one price: that is what we built.

Side by side

Read from each seller's page on October 15, 2026.

CoursePrice listedLaw and BusinessCode edition namedSpanishAccess
CA Electrical Prep (ours)$148.75 one timeIncluded2025 California Electrical CodeEvery lesson and questionLifetime
Contractors Intelligence School, Full Online Course$495.00 (regular price $595.00)Included (Law & Trade videos)Not statedSpanish package: $795.00Not stated
US Trade TestTrade Only $249Sold separatelyLists the 2022 California Electrical CodeNot stated365 days
Peerless Institute, Study Guide + Online Practice Exam$250.00In the $375.00 bundle2022 California CodesNot statedNot stated
RocketCert$199Sold separately, $199Not statedNot stated1 year access period
@HomePrep, California Electrical-C10$269.99Sold separately, $269.99Not statedNot statedNot stated
Builder's Book, QuickPass Combo$126.60 (was $148.95)Not includedQuick-Card based on the 2020 NECNot statedNot stated

"Not stated" means the page I read did not say. Ask the seller.

What to check before you buy any C-10 course

  1. The code edition. CSLB's C-10 study guide lists the 2025 California Electrical Code. Ask any course which edition its questions use. Rules move between editions, and an old answer key teaches you the wrong answer.
  2. Both exams. You pass two computer-based exams: Law and Business, and the C-10 trade exam. If Law and Business is sold separately, add both prices before you compare.
  3. Spanish, if you need it. Law and Business has a Spanish version. The C-10 trade exam does not, but CSLB can approve a translator to read it to you. Our guide to taking the C-10 in Spanish explains how.
  4. Access length. CSLB gives you 18 months from the day it accepts your application to pass the exams. Access that ends before you test is money spent twice.
  5. "CSLB-approved" claims. CSLB says there are no schools or application preparation organizations that are affiliated with or agents of CSLB.
  6. The refund, in writing. Read the terms before you pay, not after.

Where each one wins

  • Contractors Intelligence School is the choice if you learn best from a person: it lists live streaming and in-class options, plus a Spanish package.
  • Peerless Institute suits people who want a printed study guide and a practice exam. Its practice exam page lists 592 practice questions.
  • Builder's Book has the lowest price in this table for a trade-only book and flash cards.
  • RocketCert and US Trade Test are online courses that sell the trade and Law and Business courses one at a time.

Where we fall short

We are online only. There is no live class and no printed book, although you can print practice tests and answer keys as PDFs. If you need a teacher in the room, a school is a better fit.

What we built, and why

Of the other six course pages above, none named the 2025 California Electrical Code. We built CA Electrical Prep on it. Every one of our 1,202 practice questions is checked by code against the stored text of the 2025 California Electrical Code and the CSLB law book, and each answer shows the section behind it. Both exams are in one price. Every lesson and question is in English and Spanish.

If the course is not right for you, request a refund within 30 days of purchase and we will take care of it.

Take the free practice test to see where you stand, or see the price.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best C-10 exam prep course?
It depends on how you learn. For a live class, pick a school that teaches one. For a printed book, pick a book. For self-study online that covers both exams on the 2025 California Electrical Code, in English or Spanish, at one price, we built CA Electrical Prep. The table on this page compares seven courses from their own pages.
Does any C-10 course have CSLB approval?
No. CSLB says there are no schools or application preparation organizations that are affiliated with or agents of CSLB. Treat "CSLB-approved" in an ad as a red flag.
Which code edition should a C-10 course use?
CSLB's C-10 study guide, for examinations scheduled on or after June 1, 2024, lists the 2025 California Electrical Code. A course built on an older edition can teach you rules that have changed.
Is there C-10 exam prep in Spanish?
Yes. Our course has every lesson and practice question in English and Spanish. Contractors Intelligence School lists a Spanish package. Remember that the C-10 trade exam itself has no Spanish version; the Law and Business exam does.

Related guides

C-10 Exam Facts: Every Number, With the CSLB Source

Experience, fees, exam time, format, section weights, the code edition and what happens after you pass. Every number on this page links to the CSLB page it came from.

Can You Take the C-10 Exam in Spanish? What CSLB Allows

The C-10 trade exam has no Spanish version. The Law and Business exam does, and CSLB can approve a translator to read the trade exam to you. Here is how it works, from CSLB's own pages.

C-10 Practice Questions: How to Use Them to Actually Pass

C-10 practice questions only work if you use them right. Here's how many to do, why testing beats re-reading, and how to space them so it sticks.

Help